Stephan Schmidheiny

Avina Stiftung was founded in 1994 by Dr. Stephan Schmidheiny. As an industrialist and pioneer, Stephan Schmidheiny has continued his family tradition in his own, special way and, in so doing, written industrial history. In addition to his economic activities, Stephan Schmidheiny has also always closely accompanied political, social and cultural developments. As consultant to the UNO and the OECD, as a speaker, an author, founder of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development and creator of the term eco-efficiency, he has brought an important impulse to the debate on sustainable economic, social and ecological development globally.

He became involved in philanthropy from an early stage. Besides Avina Stiftung, Stephan Schmidheiny created the foundation Alexander Schmidheiny Stiftung which is also active in Switzerland. His foundations Fundes, Fundación Avina and MarViva are active in Latin America. The Latin American foundations are funded by the non-profit Viva Trust, to which Stephan Schmidheiny bequeathed his industrial participations in the region in 2003. To date, the foundations of Stephan Schmidheiny have invested more than 500 million Francs in non-profit projects.

stephanschmidheiny.com
stephan-schmidheiny-portrait..jpg

Organisation

The Avina Stiftung Board of Trustees is responsible for the strategy and effective implementation of the foundation’s objectives. It leads Avina according to the principles of Good Foundation Governance. The office is responsible for operational business. It prepares the relevant decisions for the hands of the foundation board. The foundation board’s committee on donations decides on the sponsored projects; projects with unusual content or large volume are presented to the President for the final decision. The members of the foundation board do not receive attendance fees or other compensation for their activities. 

The accounting books of Avina Stiftung are reviewed according to Swiss standards by the independent auditor ORG Ostschweizerische Revisionsgesellschaft AG. Avina Stiftung is subject to the supervision of the Swiss Federal Supervisory Authority for Foundations.

Foundation Board

  • Dr. Stephan Schmidheiny, President
  • Heinz Hefti, Donations Committee
  • Elisabeth Meyerhans Sarasin, Donations Committee
  • Marcel Nauer, Donations Committee
  • Dr. Viktoria Schmidheiny

Office

  • Sibylle Feltrin, Director
  • Barbara Wilhelm, Project Administration

Avina in numbers

Funding according to areas of activity in 2016 (in CHF)

avina_2016_foerderbereiche_EN.png
avina_2016_foerderbereiche-mobile_EN.png

Funding according to regions in 2016 (in CHF)

avina_2016_regionen_desktop_EN.png
avina_2016_regionen-mobile_EN.png

Network

Avina Stiftung actively enters into partnerships with other non-profit foundations and networks people and organisations which deal with similar issues. Thus, our projects profit from a network of various expertise and experience and a widespread effect. 

Avina deliberately enters into risks. We also provide carefully targeted start-up funding, therefore enabling projects to prove themselves. This provides the basis for further investors (including commercial investors) to get involved in the projects in a second phase.

We prize our partners as a valuable source for the exchange of information, the acquisition of new knowledge and the further development of professional foundation activity.

alexanderschmidheinystiftung.png

Avina Stiftung is closely connected to the Alexander Schmidheiny Stiftung which focuses on local initiatives in Schmidheiny’s native home, the Rheintal. Stephan Schmidheiny founded Alexander Schmidheiny Stiftung in 1993 in memory of his brother Alexander, who died at a young age. 

alexanderschmidheinystiftung.ch
avina_fundacion.png

Avina Stiftung is closely connected to the non-profit foundation Fundación Avina which operates in Latin America and which emerged from the Avina Stiftung in 2001.

Today, Fundación Avina is present in 15 countries in Latin America via a network of physical and virtual agencies. It aims to support actual and relevant changes which lead to sustainable development in Latin America.

Today, the two organisations are financially and organisationally independent of one another. However, we work together regularly in order to promote the exchange of information between Europe and Latin America.  

avina.net
fundes.png

In order to intensify the relationships between Europe and Latin America, Avina Stiftung is working together with the Initiative Fundes. Stephan Schmidheiny founded the Fundes foundation in 1984, with the aim of sustainably reinforcing private business in Latin America. Fundes is committed to micro-businesses as well as small and mid-sized businesses and is currently active in 10 Latin American countries.

fundes.org
marviva.png

Together with Erica Knie, Stephan Schmidheiny called the Fundación MarViva to life in 2002. The Foundation is focused on the preservation and sustainable exploitation of marine life and the coastline in the eastern tropical Pacific. MarViva currently operates in Costa Rica, Panama, and Colombia.

marviva.net
viva_trust.png

In 2003, Stephan Schmidheiny bequeathed his industrial participations in Latin America to the Viva Trust, which he had established. The Viva Trust invests a considerable amount of its profits from industrial activities in Fundación Avina and in other philanthropic activities and is thereby contributing to long-term development in Latin America. 

viva-trust.com
swissfoundations.png

Avina Stiftung is one of the eleven founding members of SwissFoundations. The association of Swiss grant-making foundations aims to improve the image and the opportunities for development of grant-making foundations in Switzerland with a strong and independent voice.

SwissFoundations has developed the Swiss Foundation Code as an orientation framework for modern foundation governance for the effective management of foundations. We adhere to these principles as part of our conviction.

swissfoundations.ch

Stephan Schmidheiny

Avina Stiftung a été fondée en 1994 par Stephan Schmidheiny. Véritable pionnier issu d'une dynastie industrielle, Stephan Schmidheiny a poursuivi la tradition familiale de façon profondément originale, écrivant ainsi une page de l'histoire industrielle. Parallèlement à ses activités économiques, Stephan Schmidheiny a toujours accompagné activement les évolutions politiques, sociales et culturelles. En tant que consultant auprès de l'ONU et de l'OCDE, conférencier, auteur, fondateur du World Business Council for Sustainable Development et créateur du néologisme «éco-efficience», il a donné au débat sur le développement économique, social et écologique un élan d'envergure mondiale.

Très tôt, il s'est penché sur les questions de philanthropie entrepreneuriale. Outre Avina Stiftung, Stephan Schmidheiny a également créé en Suisse la fondation Alexander Schmidheiny Stiftung. En Amérique latine, ses fondations Fundes, Fundación Avina et MarViva sont très actives. Elles sont financées par Viva Trust, une organisation à but non lucratif à laquelle Stephan Schmidheiny avait fait don, en 2003, toutes les participations industrielles qu'il détenait dans la région. A ce jour, les fondations de Stephan Schmidheiny ont investi plus de 500 millions de francs dans des projets philanthropiques.

stephanschmidheiny.com
stephan-schmidheiny-portrait..jpg

Organisation

Le Conseil de fondation d'Avina Stiftung est responsable de la stratégie et de la mise en œuvre effective des objectifs de la fondation. Il dirige Avina selon les principes de bonne gouvernance figurant dans le Swiss Foundation Code. La direction est responsable de la gestion opérationnelle. Elle prépare les décisions à prendre pour le Conseil de fondation. La commission de dotation du Conseil sélectionne les projets financés; les projets exceptionnels en termes de volume ou de contenu sont soumis au Président pour décision finale. Les membres du Conseil de fondation ne perçoivent pas d'argent ni aucune autre compensation pour leur engagement.

Les comptes d'Avina Stiftung sont examinés par l'organe de révision ORG Ostschweizerische Revisionsgesellschaft AG conformément aux normes suisses. Avina Stiftung est soumise à la surveillance de l'autorité fédérale de surveillance des fondations.

Conseil de la fondation

  • Dr. Stephan Schmidheiny, président
  • Heinz Hefti, commission de dotation
  • Elisabeth Meyerhans Sarasin, commission de dotation
  • Marcel Nauer, commission de dotation
  • Dr. Victoria Schmidheiny

Direction

  • Sibylle Feltrin, directrice générale
  • Barbara Wilhelm, administration des projets

Avina en chiffres

Aides par domaine d'encouragement en 2016 (en CHF)

avina_2016_foerderbereiche_FR.png
avina_2016_foerderbereiche-mobile_FR.png

Aides par région en 2016 (en CHF)

avina_2016_regionen_desktop_FR.png
avina_2016_regionen-mobile_FR.png

Réseau

Avina Stiftung mène des partenariats actifs avec d'autres fondations donatrices et met en réseau des personnes et des organismes qui interviennent sur des questions similaires. Nos projets bénéficient ainsi d'un réseau enrichi de compétences et d'expériences, ce qui élargit leur portée.

Avina prend des risques en toute connaissance de cause. Nous fournissons des capitaux de départ de façon ciblée en permettant à certains projets de faire leurs preuves. Cela permet à d'autres investisseurs, y compris du secteur privé, de prendre le relais sur ces projets dans une deuxième phase.

Nos partenariats sont très enrichissants par le biais des échanges d'expérience, de la transmission de nouvelles connaissances et du développement d'une activité de fondation professionnelle.

alexanderschmidheinystiftung.png

Avina Stiftung est étroitement liée à la fondation Alexander Schmidheiny Stiftung, qui soutient essentiellement les initiatives locales de la vallée du Rhin, berceau des Schmidheiny. Stephan Schmidheiny a créé la fondation Alexander Schmidheiny Stiftung en 1993 en hommage à son frère défunt, Alexander.

alexanderschmidheinystiftung.ch
avina_fundacion.png

Avina Stiftung est étroitement liée à la fondation à but non-lucratif Fundación Avina, qui opère en Amérique latine et qui est issue de la fondation Avina Stiftung en 2001.

La Fundación Avina est actuellement présente dans 15 pays d'Amérique latine par le biais d'un réseau de bureaux physiques et virtuels. Elle a pour vocation de soutenir des changements concrets et pertinents conduisant à un développement durable en Amérique latine.

Les deux organisations sont aujourd'hui financièrement et structurellement indépendantes l'une de l'autre. Mais elles travaillent ensemble régulièrement en vue de développer les échanges entre l'Europe et l'Amérique latine.

avina.net
fundes.png

Avina Stiftung travaille de façon ciblée avec l'initiative Fundes en vue de renforcer les liens entre l'Europe et l'Amérique latine. Stephan Schmidheiny a créé la fondation Fundes en 1984 pour soutenir le développement durable du secteur privé en Amérique latine. Fundes agit en faveur des micro-entreprises et des PME dans une dizaine de pays latino-américains.

fundes.org
marviva.png

En collaboration avec Erica Knie, Stephan Schmidheiny crée, en 2002, la Fundación MarViva. La fondation concentre ses activités sur la préservation et l'exploitation durable de la faune marine et des côtes du Pacifique tropical oriental. MarViva est aujourd'hui active au Costa Rica, au Panama et en Colombie.

marviva.net
viva_trust.png

En 2003, Stephan Schmidheiny offre les participations industrielles qu'il détient en Amérique latine à Viva Trust, qu'il a lui-même fondé. Viva Trust investit une part substantielle du bénéfice généré par les activités industrielles dans la Fundación Avina et diverses activités philanthropiques, contribuant ainsi au développement durable en Amérique latine.

viva-trust.com
swissfoundations.png

Avina Stiftung est l'un des onze membres fondateurs de SwissFoundations.

Cette association réunissant les fondations donatrices suisses est animée par la volonté d’améliorer l’image et les possibilités de développement des fondations donatrices en Suisse en donnant à ce secteur une voix forte et indépendante.

Pour une gestion efficace des fondations, SwissFoundations a mis en place avec le "Swiss Foundation Code" un cadre d'orientation pour une gouvernance moderne des fondations. Nous appliquons ces principes par conviction.

swissfoundations.ch